*RC provided via Netgalley in exchange of an honest review*
sticker20-20ng20member20-prof20readerTommy Hopps was just an average American teenager, until everything changed overnight…
cover104436-mediumadd-to-goodreads-button3☆☆
Author: Vic Connor
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Release Date: December 27th, 2016

When Tommy’s family goes on vacation to Mexico City, a wicked, time traveling pirate attacks them, murders his father and pulls Tommy into a vicious time warp. He finds himself marooned in 1521 Mexico, in the middle of the Aztec Empire, and must draw on his own courage and instinct to survive.

Tommy must overcome incredible odds on his quest to reunite with his family, including a horde of Aztec warriors, a prison full of human freaks, mysterious sorcerers, and ghostly, shape-shifting beings. Only with the help of some unlikely friends can Tommy escape his captors and, ultimately, learn the astonishing truth about his own past.

Will Tommy survive?
Can he return in time to save his father?
Will the world he once knew ever be the same?
Who is the real Tommy Hopps?

“Sure to please any adventure lover, Tommy Hopps and the Aztecs is a thrilling coming-of-age story about the power of human existence, set in one of history’s most magnificent civilizations.”

This is part of a series. I didn’t know that. If I’d known, I probably wouldn’t have requested and read it, since it DIDN’T GIVE ME CLOSURE, and I didn’t know it wouldn’t do that, since I hadn’t caught on on the fact that THIS IS PART OF A SERIES. I don’t even know if I can put the blame on anything or anyone but myself, but I’m still very upset.
So, I don’t know if it’s right or wrong, but that already knocks some points off of it.

Tommy Hopps and the Aztects reminds me, in title only of Harry Potter and the various ands, and Percy Jackson and the various ands, and truth be told I expected something in Percy Jackson’s line. That would’ve been cool. Wasn’t exactly that, but a bit more confusing, with all the “who is the real Tommy Hopps?” thingy. Also, I would’ve liked to see a bit more Aztec action, but we soon skittered into fantasy territory. Which was okay with me, had we not skittered into an alternative-universe cliffhanger that I did not expect.
Might be the fact that I don’t exactly represent the target audience, but it didn’t strike my fancy…

Loved the illustrations, though.

