I, alongside pretty much every bookworm who ever walked the rows of shelves of a library and roamed through piles and piles of heavenly smelling paper in their local bookstores, associate summers with reading.
Once upon a time this was mainly related to the fact that summer = more freetime, seeing that school’s out and school texts and required readings are finally! finally! traded in for all those wonderful books that have been put on hold on that massive TBR-pile for a damn long time – yay! – while now, as a working adult, freetime is as rare as a rainbow farting unicorn dancing in my backyard and my shelves seem to be stacked higher by the second.
As an adult I might be freer than ever to choose my reading material, but time’s spread thinner and, while I try pretty hard to read as much as possible, I cannot possibily shoot for the stars like I’d want to. Not that my glorious prolific reader’s days are over – NEVER! – but life has an habit to intrude in my favourite past time and my book count per year considerably dropped since I’ve had to shoulder some responsabilities that I’d wish I could escape through a wardrobe leading into an other world, or by tornado sweeping me off to yellow-plastered streets, or just by flying to St. Barth’s or just wherever Alexander Skarsgard happens to be taking his shirt off (saw The Legend of Tarzan one too many times… maybe).
Alas, that’s not to be! Because Alexander Skarsgard is way too tall for me*sigh*. And that’s the only reason why :p
Summer, however, remains the period when I (try to)read most. Screw the extra hours at work, the laundry and cooking, cleaning up to do, and especially sleep! Who needs sleep when you can sprawl on the ice-cold tiles, ventilator blasting maximum strenght, mosquitos sucking you dry, with a good books in your gross and sweaty hands?!

What I’ve read over the course of one hot summer

30 Books from June to August 2016

– After Hours by Cara McKenna ★★★

– The Lumikki Andersson Trilogy by Salla Simukka
1. As Red As Blood ★★
2. As White As Snow ★★★
3.  As Black As Ebony ★★★★

– He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker ★★★
– The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells ★★★
– Rock Chick: Revolution by Kristen Ashley ★★★★
– The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood ★★★
– The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee ★★★
– The Hunger Man by Scott D. Pomfret ★★★★
– The Man. The Game. The Baby by London Casey;
– Song of the Red Wolf by Toni House ★★★
– Sherlock Holmes and the Servants of Hell by Paul Kane ★★★
– Nicholas and Alexandra by Robert K. Massie NO RATING

– The Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu
1. Legend ★★★
2. Prodigy ★★★★
3. Champion ★★★★

– The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova ★★★
– The Darkest Torment (Lords of the Underworld #12) by Gena Sh0walter ★★★★
– Who’s Afraid? by Maria Lewis ★★★
– The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan ★★★★
– The Last Englishman by Hebe Weenolsen ★★★★

– Lust in the Tudor Court by Elizabeth Moss
1. Wolf Bride ★★
2. Rebel Bride ★★
3. Rose Bride ★★

– Long War Series by Christian Cameron:
1. Killer of Men ★★★★

 – Playing with Monsters (Playing with Monsters #1) by Amelia Hutchins ★★★★
– Playing Fast (New York Saints #5) by Melanie Scott DNF
– The Bourbon Kings (The Bourbon Kings #1) by J.R. Ward ★★★★
– Bulfinch’s Mythology by Thomas Bulfinch NO RATING

