Sometimes “I like” and “I don’t like” suffice.

Short and (relatively) concise reviews. I aim for under 100 words, but I occasionally tend to ramble.

23397523

Faster Dirtier
(Take Me…, #5)
by Colleen Masters

Genres: Contemporary Romance

In my opinon, this one was uncalled for.
I relatively enjoyed the rest of the Take me… series (at least Siena and Harrison’s story got a chance to develope over 4 books) – all in all a nice way to spend two afternoons – and I was really excited to read about Enzo (he was a douche for 3.75 of the books, but we all love an asshole from time to time), but I was not just a little – meaning, “WTF, WTF, WTF” was my chant during the whole of it – disappointed with Colleen Masters’ choice of his female match. I hated Shelby with a passion, but I much preferred her to “Ace” and that is putting it all out there, underlined with screaming red marking and Gordon Ramsay cursing and cussing at his worst.

Verdict: Too Short, Too Easy.

25814244He Will Be My Ruin
by K.A. Tucker

Genres: Contemporary, Mystery-Thriller

I gingerly unfold the paper that’s obviously been handled many times, judging by the crinkles in it.
My eyes widen.
A naked man fills one side. He’s entrancingly handsome… lying on his back, one muscular arm disappearing into the pillow beneath his head, a white sheet tangled around his legs, not quite covering the goods…
Who the hell is this guy and why didn’t I ever hear about him? And where is he now? Where were they together last?
Does he know that she’s dead?
… I slowly fold the paper back up. Celine’s cursive scrawl decorates the back side in purple ink. Words I hadn’t noticed before.
Words that make my heart stop now.
‘This man was once my salvation. Now he will be my ruin.’

I read the prologue and I was hooked. It promised a lot of angst and an even greater amount of suspence – that’s naturally what a good mystery/thriller aims for – and it’s exactly what you’ll get from this book..
A good mystery/thriller is characterized by the fact that you cannot guess who’s the culprit until the very end and, even though I had my suspicions, K.A. Tucker managed to mislead me more than once. Thumbs up!

Verdict: a great mystery I’d recommend to just about everyone.
★★★

17912498The Queen of the Night
by Alexander Chee

Genres: Historical Fiction, Mystery

“Men often complain of the wickedness of women. Of how we delight in what power we have over their hearts. But they reign over everything else, so of course, they grudge us this, should we ever come to rule over this thing the size of their fist.”

The cover might induce you to think about dark nights and vampires, but The Queen of the Night is all about an avalance of drama, scandals and intrigues in the opera world.
Masterfully written – even though a bit heavy on recaps of various operas  and explainatory flashbacks that excessively dragged out an otherwise flowing story.
I was sucked in by its mysteries and complexity.

Verdict: beautiful but too lenghty.
★★★

