10813469.jpgadd-to-goodreads-button3★★★★
Author: Kristen Ashley
Release Date: March 14th, 2011
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Series: Rock Chick, #4
Sequel to: Rock Chick Redemption
Followed by: Rock Chick Revenge

Jules has got a score to settle against the drug dealers of Denver. Vance has made it his mission that Jules won’t get dead while dishing out vigilante justice. Jules doesn’t have time for romance, she’s too busy saving the world and she enlists Zip (the gunstore owner), Heavy (an ex-PI) and Frank (a mysterious recluse) to help.

The Rock Chicks of Fortnum’s Bookstore get involved to provide romantic advice and guidance, none of which Jules accepts at first. The Hot Bunch of Nightingale Investigations adopt Jules as one of their own. Even though Jules tries to hang on to her inner Head Crackin’ Mamma Jamma, the Rock Chicks; Hot Bunch; Jules’s long-suffering Uncle Nick; Jules’s friend the rotund, African-American, Jackie-O wannabe, May; and especially Vance will stop at nothing to wear her down.

But Jules makes some bad guys pretty angry and one is dedicated to taking her out. Vance and the Hot Bunch have to pull out all the stops to keep her alive. At the same time, Jules and Vance learn the true meaning of home but once they find this precious entity they’ve been searching for all their lives, will Jules’s enemies tear it away?

At this point I’ve read a handful – yeah, more like two handfuls – of Kristen Ashley’s novels, and so far I’ve enjoyed each one of them.
In the romance department, Kristen Ashley’s stories are among my favourites.

Though, in this one, I had some problems with the female main-character, Jules “The Law” (but I loved Vance the more).
I did not like her very much (dunno, the recurring “the voice-that-is-law” thing got on my nerves pretty fast, the continuous “we’ve got to break up” that never lasted more than 5 minutes seemed to me like she just wanted him to work for it a little bit harder), particularly in the beginning, but I gradually got over it, because the two of them are like gravy and mashed potatoes: they just go perfectly together.

Other than that, Jules’s a pretty admirable character. She wants to make a difference and thus she’s a social-worker, she’s a “strong” character with some deeply-rooted personal issues which she gradually overcomes.

And here comes the part that always bugs me: she’s beautiful but she doesn’t know it. — These chicks never know they are beautiful until a guy shows up and tells them. Come on!! Really? Some self-esteem, please! — I cannot seem to get over this aspect of Kristen Ashley’s books. That’s an issue for me. The guy’s always hot and aware of it, the girl always is hot but not aware of it. I want something the other way around. I want a dork that is not aware that he’s hot and a chick pursuing him and assuring him he’s hot. Something like that.
Turn the tables, Kristin!

But this isn’t meant as critique, because, you know, I liked Rock Chic Renegade, and I would even recommend the whole series to those who are into romance, hot guys with big hearts, and those who do not want excessively dirty sex-scenes (they are pretty tame, almost fade-to-black).

