Everybody likes lists, and I am most certainly no exception, so here’s a quick Top 5 (in no particular order) of the latest Romances of all sub-genres (New Adult, Historical, Contemporary, Dark etc etc) that got under  my skin and that I’ll forever and ever be advocating for and pressing into friends’ (and the occasional stranger on the train) hands with the highest recommendation.

B&W close up portrait of a passionate coupleHeat
by Lis Lucassen

This holds a special place in my reader’s heart, because it isn’t just another summer romance, it’s about life and its up and downs – or rather, it’s about life at its worst and the path you have to be willing to walk  in order to find your happiness.

25412703Color Me Crazy
by Carol Pavliska

Absolutely one of my most favourite books of all time, the one I measure against all Rockstar Romances, the one I’ve read to times in a row and at least another half dozen times since it came out last year.

The one negative thing I have to say about it? The cover needs some upgrading. I’ve seen this particular model in that particular position (minus tattoos) on a variety of other covers and he vaguely reminds me of Robert Pattinson who, for instance, is so not my type…

23253863Nine Minutes (Nine Minutes, #1)
by Beth Flynn

While the second installment was kind of a let down, once I got over that horrible cover (I know I’m being superficial, but let’s be honest: the cover’s a fundamental part of a book and sometimes a good story is overlooked because of it) Nine Minutes, with its unsual and controversial story, blew my socks off.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000448_00034]Undeniable (Undeniable, #1)
by Madeline Sheehan

Truth be told, it isn’t just this one of this series that makes the list: Madeline Sheehan writes amazing non-typical-lovestories, “all-consuming, soul-crushing, tear-your-heart-into-pieces stor(ies). Intense, gritty and raw, dark and disturbing” and I love each and every one of them.

26130546Tsura (Tsura, #1)
by Heather Anastasiu

Already reviewed on The Book Voucher! Read more about it here.

