Every year I try to read as many Classics as possible, spacing from Victorian Literature to Gothic Novels, from French Literature to Russian Literature, to world-renowned Classics to little known ones.
Never less than 12 Classics a year, which in my opinion isn’t that much.

This year is made it my goal to read my way through all of Jane Austen’s works and some creepy Gothic Novels such as The Monk by M. G. Lewis, Uncle Silas by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu, and Vathek by William Beckford, but my eyes is prone to wanderings and I keep finding stuff I want to read. When that happens, I rely on audiobooks to listen to while doing house- and garden-work, thus squeezing in the daily extra hour.

—-

“But-! I say! The common conventions of humanity-‘
‘Are all very well for common people.”

maxresdefaultI only recently “discovered” The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen graphic novels.
Sure, I watched the 2003 movie first but my then 11-years-old self didn’t realize that it originated from a paper-source! Otherwise I would’ve jumped on it like cats on fish A LONG TIME AGO!

Seeing that they feature (famous) characters from Victorian Literature I decided to read the material referenced in the comics -at least, some of it since there are a ton literary references!

I was actually shocked by my lack of “culture” under this particular light: I’ve read scarily little of the masterpieces Alan Moore uses as a basis – you can boil it down to:
– Dracula by Bram Stoker;
– The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde;
– The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson;

the-invisible-man-9781433277559-lgSo now I’m trying my best to go up-to-date and the first step of my new-found quest is The Invisible Man, a masterpiece by the Father of Science Fiction H.G. Wells (whom I can’t stop thinking of as a woman thanks to Warehouse 13!). It tells the fascinating story of Griffin, a scientist who creates a serum to render himself invisible, and his consequent descent into madness.

Anywaaaaay…
Naturally, I’d already heard about The Invisible Man by  H.G. Wells –  most people know the story, how could they not when there is even a cartoon series!? –  but I never got around or was motivated enough to read it, so I had no idea how dark and action-packed it actually is!
Exceptionally well-written, I loved the wit, at times childish nonsensical at times concerningly megalomaniac attitude of the invisibile man aka Griffin. If he didn’t showcase an extreme case of the crazies I’d have petitioned him to be my next birthday entertainment, that’s how much I liked him. Then again, I like sociopathic, maniacal, homicidal (book)characters…

“Very well,” said the Voice, in a tone of relief. “Then I’m going to throw flints at you till you think differently.”

The question The Invisible Man poses (and you’d do well pondering about veeery carefully) is: “what would you do if you were invisible?“.

Granted, it might seem the greatest thing on earth to be invisible – e.g. you could walk into any store and grab the newest tech gadged FOR FREE! (personally I’d prefer raiding a library, NAY! make that living in one! *-*), you could walk into the men’s lockers and check out some drooly backside (I’m pervy today, pardon me!) – but it not only has moral downsides – e.g. you’re a thief and you might fall into a vicious cycle of criminality that may culminate into the blackest and unredeamablest-est-est of  them *whisper* murder *whisper* just like Griffin – but it also has some un-ignorable practical downsides such as the fact that you’d have to be naked all the time. ALL TIME TIME! That means also during frigid winter nights and that’s not something people look forward to, especially the guys with their in-the-cold-shrinking-peepees – nobody’d be able to see them, so there wouldn’t be self-esteem issues on that front (I don’t think you yourself would be able to see it either…). Again, pardon me for today’s pervyness
Also, you’re doomed to walk the world alone. On my part, I do appreciate some alone time now and then, but to live a life all by your lonesome? That has to be grow boring quickly, that has to be depressing, that’s got to be maddening! You’re bend to go cray-cray!
After all, “no man is an island.

“Alone– it is wonderful how little a man can do alone! To rob a little, to hurt a little, and there is the end.”

There’re just too many cons to make invisibility appealing to me, so I’d gladly pass on that (the whole neikid thing blew the deal for me on its own) and go with the flying-power, should the occasion ever arise!


“I went over the heads of the things a man reckons desirable. No doubt invisibility made it possible to get them, but it made it impossible to enjoy them when they are
got.” 

