Sometimes “I like” and “I don’t like” suffice.

Short and (relatively) concise reviews. I aim for under 100 words, but I occasionally tend to ramble.

RestaurantAtTheEndOfTheUniverseThe Restaurant at the End of the Universe
(Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy #2)
by Douglas Adams

Genres: Science Fiction, Humor, Modern Classics

The story so far:
In the beginning the Universe was created.
This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.

And it’s a mess! A complete, utter mess.

We hop around space, we even hop around time, we meet beings you didn’t even imagine could exist! Every situation, every person is a contraddiction.
You think you’ve got it figured out?
Well, think again, because you really did not.
While you’re at it, stop thinking altogether. You may search for the light in the dark, but you won’t ever find it. Not in The Restaurant at the End of the Universe, hell!, not in the entire The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy trilogy/series.

You might get confused.
You might think it weird at every turn of page.
You might think it even weirder when you close the book to the last page, but if you are into humor, if you are looking to be “what-what?”ed, and if you want to know who rules the Universe, this is your cup of tea.

Verdict: Just… lean back and enjoy.
★★★★

 

17286817Conjured
by Sarah Beth Durst

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

“Good luck. Be safe. And if you can’t be safe… be yourself.”

I don’t think I’ve ever struggled so much to get through a book that had such an interesting story line!
I almost DNF’d this because of the excruciatingly slow way it was set off and I was mortally bored until the Three Apocalypse Supermen – the Electric Eel, the Invisible Douchebag, and Slythering Snake Girl – appeared.
I am glad I didn’t set it aside, though, because otherwise I would have missed the most twisted twist in twist-history and it went totally off the charts with the revelation of who/what Eve is!

Verdict: I likey-liked it!
★★★★

 

The Song of Achilles11250317
by Madeline Miller

Genres: Mythological, Historical Fiction

“I could recognize him by touch alone, by smell; I would know him blind, by the way his breaths came and his feet struck the earth. I would know him in death, at the end of the world.”

A new take on the Iliad? Count me in every time something like this hits the shelves.

Well-written and compelling, with a heartbreaking (and not at all unexpected) ending, The Song of Achilles is a breath of fresh air not for the flawed romance between Achilles and Patroclus (even though the homosexual aspect of their relationship is anything but news), but because of the redemption of Achilles’ reputation as a stubborn, irascible bully through the eyes of his best-friend/lover.

Verdict: it’s booklove!
★★★★★

