*ARC provided via Netgalley in exchange of an honest review*
sticker20-20ng20member20-prof20readercover88506-mediumadd-to-goodreads-button3★★★
(3.5 stars)
Author: Sarah Robinson
Release Date: June 14th, 2016
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Series: Kavanagh Legends, #2
Sequel to: Breaking a Legend
Followed by: Becoming a Legend

His family’s gym has produced a roster of mixed martial arts legends, but so far Kieran Kavanagh hasn’t followed in their footsteps. After a brawl lands him in jail, Kieran is assigned to work at a center for at-risk youth. Though given a second chance, Kieran’s simply going through the motions—until he meets one very special kid, Shea Doherty, and falls hard for her very beautiful, very grown-up big sister, Fiona. The trouble is, Kieran’s best opening moves are getting him nowhere fast.

Fiona Doherty has too many responsibilities to fool around, especially now that she has custody of Shea. Sure, she’d love to find a devoted partner. But she won’t jeopardize her sister’s happiness—or risk revealing her tortured past—on a love-’em-and-leave-’em type of guy like Kieran… so it’s up to him to prove her wrong. As Fiona spends more time with Kieran, she starts to see a softer side of the reckless warrior. Now she must admit that when it comes to the possibility of real love, well… there’s a fighting chance.

If you ask my friends, they’d probably claim me to be the Love-Grinch, since I always go on about how I don’t really believe in love and the likes.
Truth is: I am a hopeless romantic with high expectations that have yet to – and probably never will – be met. I am (not so) patiently waiting to be swept off my feet.

In the meantime I take solace in the arms of books.
That means, yes, I read a ton of Romance.
And that’s probably why I feel like things have gone quite stale in this department, and for a story to keep my interest and earn a nice 5-stars stamp, it has to work for it very hard and be aaaa-wait-for it-mazing.
Recently that hasn’t happened so often. Either the Romances I read are meeh or snort inducing, and when they actually manage to “earn” my liking it’s a so-so-la-la thing and I almost always find something to bash ’em and down my rating. So, yeah, I guess I am a Love-Grinch after all.

Anyway! About the book…

When I read the first installment of this series, Breaking a Legend,  I was more interested in some secondary characters than in Rory and Clare. I couldn’t wait to read more about Kieran and Quinn, so I was pretty excited when I spotted Saving a Legend on Netgalley and when was approved I promptly  dropped what I was currently reading and dived into it with gusto.
All in all, it turned out good, but it left some bitterness on my tongue, since it was… less than I expected, and I have to point out some things that spoiled this much awaited for book.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed Saving a Legend and like the fact that it’s a down-to-earth, realistic story you can (possibly) relate to, but it also seemed to me a bit…easy?
The relationship development was pretty fast, I almost didn’t feel the chemistry between Fiona and Kieran. I won’t go as far as to say that it was forced – because it wasn’t, in my opinion it just needed some more time to develope – or that wasn’t there at all – because, in the end, it was there – but it didn’t have the magnetic pull that was undeniable between Rory and Clare.

Also, there was equal to no conflict at all. I won’t dish you spoilers but what happened on the horizon of action was minimal and avoidable.
I really wanted some grudges to be hold, some more screaming and less tears – but the epilogue, was swoon-worthy and I am a sucker for happy happy-endings, after all.

Furthermore, I was a tiny bit disappointed by the fact that barely any fighting scenes were described.  I know it’s Romance, but why did Sarah Robinson not describe Kane’s fight? After all, the blurbs and the stories themselves press the fact that the Kavanaghs are big in the fighting circuits, some as fighters others as trainers and others in the organization department.
Yeah, I know what you are thinking: you want fighting? watch some MMA matches or wrestling. Fair enough! I’m just saying that if you take me to a MMA match, I want to actually watch it…
But I do understand that the author will probably go back to Kane’s first fight in the book that tells his story (probably the next one, since I think I figured out the order Sarah Robinson’s going to go – *hint hint* age) and that’s gonna be the one with more fighting scenes (fingers crossed), so I will drop that argument and go back to the romance. Because, even though I wasn’t completely enamoured with this story and I am complaining about DETAILS, Sarah Robinson’s style is engaging and she wrote one of my now most favourite paragraphs which turned the tables on Kieran’s magnetism and lovability, and made me go aaaaaw and wish I had a Kieran to sweep me of my feet.

“I think the best romance happens after the honeymoon phase, Fi. it doesn’t happen on fancy dates with fany dresses. It happens cuddled on the couch watching trashy TV, walkind down the street halding hands, loving a child together, just living life and making the mundane into a dream come true. I don’t want a honeymoon, I want an everyday”.

I’m probably just confusing you.
Did she or did she not like it?
I liked it, but it managed to sweep me just off one foot. I’m counting on the next installments to sweep the second one away and land me on my ass (I’m talking about you, Quinn!).

THE BOOK VOUCHER RECOMMENDS:

Dominic  (Slater Brothers, #1) by L.A. Casey21473305

After a car accident killed her parents when she was a child, Bronagh Murphy chose to box herself off from people in an effort to keep herself from future hurt. If she doesn’t befriend people, talk to them or acknowledge them in any way they leave her alone just like she wants.

When Dominic Slater enters her life, ignoring him is all she has to do to get his attention. Dominic is used to attention, and when he and his brothers move to Dublin, Ireland for family business, he gets nothing but attention. Attention from everyone except the beautiful brunette with a sharp tongue.

Dominic wants Bronagh and the only way he can get to her, is by dragging her from the boxed off corner she has herself trapped in the only way he knows how… by force.

Dominic wants her, and what Dominic wants, Dominic gets.

 

