Sometimes “I like” and “I don’t like” suffice.

Short and (relatively) concise reviews. I aim for under 100 words, but I occasionally tend to ramble.

23454468Thicker Than Water
by Brigid Kemmerer

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Paranormal Mystery

“Everyone hates me, but no one knows her.” I wince, and the words claw their way out of my throat. “No one knew her. No one cares about finding out who did this. They just care about how much they hate me.”

⚠! This is not a standalone. It can’t be, because it ends on a bit of a cliffhanger and I can’t accept that this is the end of it.
So, now that’s settled  and the author will write a sequel for the sole reason that I said so (she’ really writing one, guys), let me tell you that the intenseometer was far and above anything I expected.
This is a Mystery with a paranormal and sinsiter twist that had me rooted to my chair…while it was strapped on an emotional rollercoaster!

Verdict: I really really really liked it!
★★★★

 

12000020Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
(Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe #1)
by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, GLBT

“I bet you could sometimes find all the mysteries of the universe in someone’s hand.”

When a book wins a pile of literary prizes (the American Book Award, among them), it’s not a guarantee of it being as good as all those “medal stamps” on the cover make it out to be.
But that’s not the case here. Benjamin Alire Sáenz wrote a brilliantly outstanding, heartwarmingly perfect story that combines simple and beautiful prose with wonderful life philosophy and important issues that are here well-handled.

Verdict: I L.O.V.E.D. IT!
★★★★★

Pompeii 7494319
by Robert Harris

Genre: Historical Fiction

“What is leadership, after all, but the blind choice of one route over another and the confident pretense that the decision was based on reason”

Recently I’ve auto-proclaimed myself Ambassador of Ancient Roman Historical Fiction and what better way of starting my campain by presenting you one of my absolute favourite ARHF?!

You know what they say about firsts: they are unforgettable.
Pompeii is one of the many reason why I’m hooked on Historical Fiction.
It’s fascinating and intriguing, quite instructive and surprisingly uncomplicated in both writing and plot.
Absolutely genius.

Verdict: Ancient Roman HF RULES!
★★★★

Short Note: I might be trespassing here, but I’ve been laughing my ass off because the opening paragraph of a GR review from one Lance Greenfield (here on WordPress): This is the story of a latter day Super Mario, an Italian plumber who overcomes very difficult challenges to fix the water supply to Napoli and surrounding areas before the local volcano erupts to ruin everything for everybody.
It’s a pretty accurate summary!

11235712Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)
by Marissa Meyer

Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopian, Retellings

“Vanity is a factor, but it is more a question of control. It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.”

This is the book that changed my attitude towards cyborgs!
I used to see Schwarzenegger’s half peeled off human face hanging over his mechanics bits in my nightmares, now he’s the personification of Prince/Emperor Kai dressed in sky-blue carrying a greased covered and cargo-pants wearing Cinderella off into the night. Yeah, I know Kai isn’t supposed to look like Arnie, but in my mental processing of cyborgs he does. Sue me!

What a fun re-imagining of Cinderella with a futuristic fairy-tale adventure feel!

Verdict: I am in Sci-Fi heaven!
★★★★

