*ARC provided via Netgalley in exchange of an honest review*
sticker20-20ng20member20-prof20readerThen Jonathan and David made a covenant, because he loved him as his own soul.
– Samuel I, 18:3 –
add-to-goodreads-button3★★★★
Author: Eric Shaw Quinn
Release Date: June 7th, 2016
Genres: MM Romance, Historical/Christian Fiction

Samuel 18:1 & 3
“And it came to pass… that the soul of Jonathan was knit with the soul of David, and Jonathan loved him as his own soul. Then Jonathan and David made a covenant, because he loved him as his own soul.”

David not only slew Goliath, he won the heart of Prince Jonathan, heir to the throne of Israel. They were star-crossed warrior lovers whose passionate affair changed history and gave rise to the nation of Israel, a legacy that has endured for 3,000 years. Their epic love story stands at the center of a religious tradition that shaped the world. But Jonathan and David were also two men torn between duty and tradition, driven by their undeniably passionate and physical love for one another.
Who were they beyond the historical facts given in the Bible?
What were they like—as men?
This modern-day novel tells the story of Israel’s first king and the man who captured his heart.

AN OPINIONATED PRE-REVIEW:

Soooo… I had decided to go on a detox of Romance since it seemed to me it was the only genre I was reading, occasionally varying with some Graphic Novels and textbooks, but I guess that, with The Prince’s Psalm that was somewhat of a Griff ins Klo. But honestly, who cares! I love Romance! Vive l’amour.

And what story could be more fitting when only recently Italy finally tail-lighted in  legally recognizing that love is love no matter in what form it comes?!

I couldn’t not read this one and I’m sure glad I got to read about the filled-in life of David who slew Goliath and loved Jonathan. Yes, David, who was blessed by God, loved a man – a fact that I choose to believe whether or not it is attested or confirmed by the books of Samuel or Jewish tradition, since Bible wording seems to hint at it (“David loved Jonathan more than women”, II Samuel 1:26 – for more in-depth reading: Susan Ackerman’s bibilical studies)  and their lovestory not only is epic but, to quote the blurb of the book and press on the fact as much as I can, said lovestory “stands at the center of a religious tradition that shaped the world”.

So, to all those people who still have a problem with people loving people, who still grasp at straws by claiming that God doesn’t want such an “unnatural” thing, let it be known that God is about Love in all it’s forms and variations and it is even written in the Bible, the Word of God composed by the hand of men, and that the foundations of haters are perilously  built upon pillers of salt and pillers of sand.

SOME MORE RAMBLE
INBETWEEN THE PAGES…

TRYING TO COMPISE THE ACTUAL BOOK-REVIEW!

There are two book related things that rarely, almost never, happen to me:
1) DNFing, because I refuse to let that happen… but sometimes there are just so many interesting books out there that make it real hard to remain stuck on something you do not enjoy: SO MANY BOOKS SO LITTLE TIME;
2) taking a long-ass time to read somthing. While I might occasionally forget to update my reading progress on Goodreads, I usually do not take longer than 3-4 days to finish a book, no matter how long it is;
These two things are usually related: the longer it takes me to read the book, the greater the chance DNFing.

Did it take me a long-ass time to read The Prince’s Psalm? It sure did – for my standards, at least: eight days, people! Eight days are an eternity to me!
Did I think of DNFing it? Nope, because I was so engrossed in it I couldn’t even think about another book, so much so that it was the only one I was reading, when I usually have at least a couple more going on at a time. I couldn’t even concentrate on the audiobooks I’m used to listening to when doing my chores in house and garden…
It certainly was captivating, but it took me really long and I feared a consequent reading slump, so I was a bit anxious, something that had nothing at all to do with the book. It so happened that The Prince’s Psalm seemed longer than it actually was. When I read through the info while composing this rambling book review, I was surprised that it was “only” 480 pages long when it really felt like 960, so obviously I was a tiny bit disheartened.

Furthermore, I’ll admit that – especially during the first chapter -I was confused by the PoV, because I couldn’t grasp who’s perspective I was experiencing: Saul’s? David’s? Johnathan’s? But then, upon pondering, I thought about how fitting it is that an epic story featured in the Bible should be told in an almost omniscent PoV that – I’ve no intention of blasphemy here – makes it as if God’s telling it.

As it is, the whole of The Prince’s Psalm is reminescent of the Bible speech, what with it’s quotations of Samuel‘s, the way the author describes things and makes his characters speak and think. And that’s precisely what I liked abot it: it gave the book authenticity.

When a book manages to capture you so completely that you cannot fathom to even look at another one untili you turn the last page… well, that’s definitely a win! 😉

Youth allowed him a vision of the future undimmed by the shadings of disappointment and sorrow that experience brings.

MORE DAVID & JONATHAN BOOKS:

King David by Allan Massie
An exploration of the complexity of King David: shepherd-boy and the chosen of the Lord; giant-killer and national hero; outcast and exile; poet, lover, law-giver and murderer.

The Secret Chord by Geraldine Brooks
Peeling away the myth to bring the Old Testament’s King David to life in Second Iron Age Israel, Brooks traces the arc of his journey from obscurity to fame, from shepherd to soldier, from hero to traitor, from beloved king to murderous despot and into his remorseful and diminished dotage.

The Secret Chord provides new context for some of the best-known episodes of David’s life while also focusing on others, even more remarkable and emotionally intense, that have been neglected. We see David through the eyes of those who love him or fear him—from the prophet Natan, voice of his conscience, to his wives Mikhal, Avigail, and Batsheva, and finally to Solomon, the late-born son who redeems his Lear-like old age. Brooks has an uncanny ability to hear and transform characters from history, and this beautifully written, unvarnished saga of faith, desire, family, ambition, betrayal, and power will enthrall her many fans

