“Sticks and stones will break your bones, but failure will get you killed.”
NarcissusinChainsUSHB2001 add-to-goodreads-button3
★★★★
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Release Date: 2001
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal,
Series: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, #10
Sequel to: Obsidian Butterfly
Followed by: Cerulean Sins

Just returned to St. Louis after six months away, Anita is still no closer to choosing between her lovers–Jean-Claude, a vampire, and Richard, a werewolf. But she has to rely on both for help after two of the wereleopards that she has been watching are abducted at a seedy club called Narcissus in Chains. Anita and her boyfriends rescue the wereleopards from the sinister people holding them, but Anita is wounded in the fight and put at risk of becoming a wereleopard herself. Richard angrily captures the wereleopard he believes is responsible and threatens to execute him. Anita must now rescue that wereleopard from Richard and the werewolves he leads, even as she mourns the apparent end of her relationship with him. Then she realizes that those who kidnapped the first two wereleopards are targeting other lycanthropes. Maybe she will be next. With plenty of steamy sex and graphic violence, this is engaging reading for vampire cultists.

“The heart wants what it wants, Dolph. You don’t plan on making your life complicated, it just happens, and you don”t do it on purpose, and you don’t do it to hurt people who love you. It just turns out that way sometimes.”

As so often happens, I started things from the end.
This is only the 10th of over two dozend books (you go, Laurell keep it up – that’s what I like about series, that they can go on for DECADES), so I got stuck in the middle of a story and you might think that would be a problem. Nope, ‘s not. You can easily read any of the books and not get confused, just have to fill in the blanks, which is not that difficult.

HERE ARE 9 THINGS I LIKED ABOUT NARCISSUS IN CHAINS:

5328781) Anita is (supposedly) a sociopath – I like that in a (book)character;

2) Jean-Claude. He’s French and a vampire. French accents are phenomenal and his haunted my mind (yes, I hear characters’ voices in me mind); vampires, I love love love vampires.

3) there’s a (sweet) transvestite (from transexual Transylvania) heyna shapeshifter (which in here is called werehyena) – Narcissus is his name: he owns a BDSM-club and has got the hots for everything on two/three/four with additional legs; he’s my idol (kidding! kidding!);

4) these people are really open and easy-going regarding the S.E.X.

5) the plot is sound and has got one or two or more revelatory moments where you either go “OMG” or “whaaaat?” or, in my case “I f**k**g knew it!” followed by a Nelson-style (you know, the Simpsons guy) “ha-ha!” that startled the poor people surrounding me during said moments;

6) Jean-Claude. I really like the name. Jean-Claude. My child’s name will be Jean-Claude;

7) Richard mans up.
So, Richard is Anita’s boyfriend (the second one soon to be replaced by a third one – only Jean-Claude’s steady, somehow…maybe); Yeah, I do not really know their history since, you know, the 10th book is my first Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter book, but I can pretend I do know what’s going on here…

8) there’s this dude, a “wereswan” (I read this one in Italian, so I don’t know if that’s the correct term, but be it as it may, I’ll stick with it) with a delicious name: Donovan. My second child will be named thus. However, I got the hots for this one. Dunno why, but I sorta fell in love with Donovan;

9) the villain creeped me out, which is always a good thing, so when he SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER dies I do not feel any anything, at all – and I usually love villains.

“I know the universe has a sense of irony, and sometimes you get reminded just how sadistic that can be.”

Oh, as general info here: everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, has got the hots for Anita.
What’s with that?!

