I am not sick, or crazy, or broken.
I am Meda Melange, demon-saint monster girl. I make full-grown men scream in terror. I break bones and drain blood. I turn nightmares into reality.
I am the most powerful creature on earth.
I stand, near-giggling over the destroyed corpse, surrounded by the sweet scent of blood and revenge.
I am what I am and I am not ashamed.

tumblr_numdouRcAu1ud6x5yo1_r1_500 add-to-goodreads-button3
☆☆☆☆
Author: Eliza Crewe
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal

Meet Meda. She eats people.

Well, technically, she eats their soul. But she totally promises to only go for people who deserve it. She’s special. It’s not her fault she enjoys it. She can’t help being a bad guy. Besides, what else can she do? Her mother was killed and it’s not like there are any other “soul-eaters” around to show her how to be different. That is, until the three men in suits show up.

They can do what she can do. They’re like her. Meda might finally have a chance to figure out what she is. The problem? They kind of want to kill her. Before they get the chance Meda is rescued by crusaders, members of an elite group dedicated to wiping out Meda’s kind. This is her chance! Play along with the “good guys” and she’ll finally figure out what, exactly, her ‘kind’ is.

Be careful what you wish for. Playing capture the flag with her mortal enemies, babysitting a teenage boy with a hero complex, and trying to keep one step ahead of a too-clever girl are bad enough. But the Hunger is gaining on her.

The more she learns, the worse it gets. And when Meda uncovers a shocking secret about her mother, her past, and her destiny… she may finally give into it.

“Naivety is cured with time. Stupidity is terminal.”

This series is unique, it dares, (it should really get more recognition), and features a main character that walks the line between good and evil, occasionally (okay, more often than not) slipping and landing on the dark side.

While the prospect of cookies might be reason enough for crossing the line and walk side by side into the night with Darth Vader and bad companions (at least it is to me, when I am dieting), Meda has actually a valid reason for being the way she is – that being AWESOME!

Meda Melange is a demon.
Okay, half-demon. She’s a walking, talking, murdering contraddiction, because her other 50% of DNA is what I would consider the angelic counterpart to her darkness: she’s a Crusader, too. And a Beacon, at that. What’s a Beacon, you ask? It’s someone that might do something good that would have the potential to turn around history. What a contraddiction, isn’t it? A half-demon Beacon. God has a great sense of humor. And endless Faith in people.

“Death is my art form–when I fight, I’m a ballerina. Graceful. Chi lacks my grace, but makes up for it in energy and enthusiasm. His fighting style is like breakdancing–strong and frenetic with some really sweet moves. Jo’s is… the Macarena. Ugly but gets the job done.”

Meda is beyond kick ass.
Meda is the kinda girl every girl should be (minus the killing, of course – don’t do that! it’s illegal): the kind that stands up for herself.

“I eye the three of them, considering. They’ll need a lesson in discretion before I go. Not a lethal lesson. Mom wouldn’t like that.”

I love her being like


and that’s if you are her best-friend and she really likes you.

In a sea of weepy and whiney, and goody-good heroines (well, Meda is more of an anti-hero heroine), Meda is a refreshing drop of water. Yeah, I know, we are already in a sea and it’s full of water, but it’s not always fresh – you know how there’s always fresher water? Meda is the fresher fresh water. I am not making sense. Whatevs! L.O.V.E. her.

Dark, violent, hilarious, charming.
You wouldn’t think that this combo could exist successfully, would you?
Well, it does in the Soul Eater series and I freaking love it.

Would I recommend Soul Eaters?
Hell yeah! One of the best YA series I’ve read.

