*ARC provided via Netgally in exchange of an honest review*
sticker20-20ng20member20-prof20reader28284269
add-to-goodreads-button3★★
Author: Michelle A. Valentine
Release Date: May 31st, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Series: Wicked White, #3
Sequel to: Wicked Reunion

All Tyler Mercer wanted was to make music—until he met Avery Jenson. The beautiful new girl in town turned his head and struck a chord in his heart. But when their one night of passion results in devastating tragedy, Tyler hits the road, leaving behind his dead-end hometown and the girl he knows he’ll never forget.

After her father was caught embezzling, Avery’s comfortable life in the city was blown to bits. But meeting Tyler helped to pick up the pieces and eased her into country living. She just never expected the handsome musician would add to her heartbreak by walking away without a backward glance.

Now, three years later, rock star Tyler’s come back, hat in hand. He’s found fame and fortune as a member of Wicked White, but it’s all worth nothing without Avery’s love. Can she forgive him for leaving when she needed him most? Or will the ghost of their past keep them apart?

NOTES:  Can be read as a standalone.

I didn’t really feel it, this flash-romance-gone-bad-turned-happily-ever-after between Tyler and Avery.
The chemistry (supposed to be the hateful instant kind which I detest and nowadays seems to be everywhere – bleach!), wasn’t really there, people!
I won’t even discuss the absence of it and the cliches that keep on piling in this novel. I rolled my eyes so much, I couldn’t see straight for a while.

The sex was flat and boring. Personally, I would’ve liked fade to black scenes better…
But yeah, this isn’t an erotic novel so we could overlook this tiny detail, but since it is a Contemporary Romance I really expected there to be some ROMANCE and the lack of thereof I can’t ignore. It has the feel of a job that has to be done and instead of romance I got rush rush rush and a whole bucket of bad cliches and a disappointing ending I didn’t buy into and wish I could return to the office of horriblly executed wrap-ups.
No, this wasn’t for me.

Also, I resented the fact that Avery repeatedly stated she had weight issues when younger and never wanted to be “fat” again because “I don’t ever want to go back to being ugly”. Being thicker doesn’t automatically mean you’re ugly. That’s a beauty standard, a prejudice that simply isn’t true. I’ve met a ton of people with weight issues who are more beautiful than rail thin models who have bones sticking out like clothes hangers out of a half-empty wardrobe.
Beauty is in the eyes of its beholder, first and foremost.

I sooo wanted this to be something in the line of Carol Pavliska’s Color Me Crazy, which to me has become the epithome of Rockstar Romance and I measure all Contemporary Romances with a rockstar in the lead by it.

Those are sizeable shoes to fill and Wicked Love doesn’t live up to it. Sorry.

