I hereby commence my account with the unembellished truth:
Reader, I murdered him.
11
add-to-goodreads-button3★★★★
Author: Lyndsay Faye
Release Date: March 22nd, 2016
Genres: Historical Fiction

Like the heroine of the novel she adores, Jane Steele suffers cruelly at the hands of her aunt and schoolmaster. And like Jane Eyre, they call her wicked – but in her case, she fears the accusation is true. When she flees, she leaves behind the corpses of her tormentors.

A fugitive navigating London’s underbelly, Jane rights wrongs on behalf of the have-nots whilst avoiding the noose. Until an advertisement catches her eye. Her aunt has died and the new master at Highgate House, Mr Thornfield, seeks a governess. Anxious to know if she is Highgate’s true heir, Jane takes the position and is soon caught up in the household’s strange spell. When she falls in love with the mysterious Charles Thornfield, she faces a terrible dilemma: can she possess him – body, soul and secrets – and what if he discovers her murderous past?

Jane Steele, the story of an orphaned girl who bares many similarities to the heroine of Charlotte Bronte’s masterpiece, is not a retelling of the great classic – if you insist on it, we could settle on it being a very very veeeeery loose one – but rather a tribute, a homage that can, in my opinion, be viewed also as an insightful commentary of it.
I think I learned more about Jane Eyre by reading this book, than in any English Literature classes I’ve taken…

When you read this novel, one thing becomes certian very fast: Jane Steele is not Jane Eyre.
The two characters and stories couldn’t be any different, which goes to demonstrated that “inspired” doesn’t stand for “copied” by any means and purposes.
Jane Steele is a story of it’s own and it’s, simply put, great!

When we tell the truth, often we are callous; when we tell lies, often we are kind. Through it all, we tell stories, and we own an uncanny knack for the task.

I have to say it, though: I was expecting something much much darker. I thought Jane Steele was going to be a psychopath that went on a (or multiple) murdering spree – actually, I went on this mental trip where she was going to reveal herself to be Jack The Ripper…
Instead she revealed herself to be a murderer with purpose (if there’s such a thing), a girl who became tough because of tragic and traumatic circumstances.
If the real world were a bit more comic-book releated she could have been seen as an avenging heroine that reaped the bad guys’ harvest by snuffing their lights off.

But that’s just me and my sometimes excessively gory expectations. It isn’t  Jane Steele‘s fault. I liked it, nontheless:  it was  and it definitely packed an amazing punch, and a mean right hook in the form of a pleasant alternative and original plot with intricate twists and a swoon-worthy happy-ending.

For more Jane Eyre inspired reading, check out my post Waiting For…Jane Steele – sequels and books inspired by Jane Eyre.
