Sometimes “I like” and “I don’t like” suffice.

Short reviews. I aim for under 100 words, but I do tend to ramble.

may1Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal
by Christopher Moore

Genre: Humor

If you have come to these pages for laughter, may you find it.
If you are here to be offended, may your ire rise and your blood boil.
If you seek an adventure, may this song sing you away to blissful escape.
If you need to test or confirm your beliefs, may you reach comfortable conclusions.
All books reveal perfection, by what they are or what they are not.
May you find that which you seek, in these pages or outside them.

May you find perfection, and know it by name.

I am Catholic (albeit not a church-attending one) and, while it is more than a bit blasphemous, I’m unashamed to say that I’m enamored by this book. It’s a hilarious, irreverent, and exceptionally well-written take on the missing years of Jesus.
And before you get religiously judgy on the subject and the manner the author chose to tell it, ponder on this quote by Voltaire, which also happens to open Lamb:

God is a comedian playing to an audience that is afraid to laugh.

Verdict: Memorable.
★★★★
quote-for-me-lamb-started-out-as-a-further-exploration-of-the-phenomenon-of-faith-and-the-christopher-moore-20-43-06

 

s-l1000Homecoming (The 100 #3)
by Kass Morgan

Genres: Post-Apocalyptic, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

“Endings and beginnings are inseparable, like the moment before dawn and the moment after.”

When the movie/tv show is better than the books. It happens. And  The 100 is the most suited example of it. Probably because it has more of a visual impact than a written one, since the wonders of an Earth changed and unexplored are better shown on screen than read on paper, where not everything can be captured all at once and in technicolor.

Verdict: The tv show puts the books to shame.
★★

Salem's Lot

‘Salem’s Lot
by Stephen King

Genres: Horror

If I had to rank Stephen King’s novel by scarieness, the first place would go to It because I hate clowns and I was utterly terrified by it. But if I had to point out my favourite one (and mind, I haven’t read all of them), I’d pick ‘Salem’s Lot because 1) it was my first; 2) it’s a well-developed and well-written story; 3) it has vampires in it, which is always a plus to me.

Verdict: Favourite on my shelf.
★★★★

