Je accuse!
We all claim to not judge a book by its cover, but truth is – as is the case with many things –  sometimes we’re attracted by the outer package.
Don’t deny it!
It has happened to you too: a shiny, artful, typographically appealing cover catches your eye and you impulse-buy a book you hadn’t heard of before or even thought about reading.
It might be either a grab down the toilet or one of those cases when you find yourself a new, unexpected favourite that also happens to look pretty.
Some other times you already are the proud owner of a book, but you just have to have that particular illustrated copy just to please your sense of aestethics…
We might backtrack, now and then, finding ourselves regretful over our misjudgment when said beautiful cover is what’s the best part of the book, but we all have judged a book by its cover and we’ll probably do it again, because we all like pretty things.

Here are some covers, some pretty (to me) some not (again, to me) and my irrelevant/profound/superficial/funny/whatever thought about them.

23480844Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn
(review)

I know that this cover is totally appropiate and ineherent to the content of Firsts, the shoes being a symbol of Mercedes’ teenagehood or teenagehood in general (is teenagehood even a word?!) and the sheets representing her “open-door bedroom policy”, but the first thing I thought when I saw it was that my ma would have a huge-assed fit.
Shoes on bed sheets!
Huge no-no.
At my home you don’t even step into a bedroom with shoes on! And if you do, they better be a pair that just came out of a newly bought box and never never ever have even touched the shop floor.

25700544Risuko (Seasons of the Sword #1) by David Kudler

I love artful covers, especially ones that have a watercolored effect.
It’s a rather simplistic one cover – if you ask for my opinion, it’s the best kind of art – and the only apt word that comes to mind to describe it is, I think, beautiful.

It reminds me of some work one of my friends did for a finals project on a short-story of mine, both because of the subject (Asian inspired) and the color choice (blue).
Furthermore, I’ll let you in on a secret: airbrushed typography is my favourite.

25324111And I Darken (The Darken Trilogy, #1) by Kiersten White
(review)

I can’t decide which version of the cover I like more.
On one side we are given a visual of Lada – I don’t particularly like it when there are actual people on covers because my imagination isn’t allowed to run wild and free, and that’s the best part of reading, but in this case it coincides perfctly with the image I had of Lada while reading about her. Based on the description, however, Lada isn’t a beauty  and on this cover she’s rather fetching, so maybe it isn’t 100% accurate. 27190613
Anyhoodles, I like it, especially because of the black-red tinctures. Yet again, inherent to the story, since red represents hatred or anger (Lada has a lot of both), and black is absence of light and also a symbol of power, which refers back to what/who Lada is to become in the course of the plot’s developement.
On the other side, we have yet another symbolic representation of the story, with a spear and a beautiful flower. War, which is at the center of Lada’s life and in her blood, and her more delicate side, the one of a daughter, sister, woman in general, or more broadly the emotions she tries to suppress because seen as a weakness.
It was this version that caught my attention when I was browsing on Netgalley, even before I read the description, because that’s the way it is on Netgalley, you know: first you see the cover, then you click on it and read the description.
Both covers are apt representations of the book, both referring to the content and story, both beautiful.

