Preambling that I’d probably-definitely be among the first to die during the Pre-Apocalypse, I’ve had recurring nightmares about the Zombie Apocalypse everybody’s seemingly convinced is coming about – primarly thanks to The Walking Dead and Z-Nation (which in my opinion has been fastly moving towards High Fantasy territory since the end of Season 1).

The whole me-dying-thing aside (just being realistic, guys), I am deeply fascinated by zombie movies and tv shows and, as a bookworm, this also has had repercussions on my reading material.5899779

On and off, I’ve been “acculturating” myself on Zombie Literature, from original Post-Apocalyptic series, to standalone novels and take-ons of classics such as the Pride and Prejudice and Zombie.
And yet there are so many other books I haven’s yet had the chance to read! There’s just so so much zombie-related out there.

After all, zombies are the new vampires, guys! Or at least the next best thing after them.

Here’s a selection of zombie-related stuff I read/watched and a whole lotta more that is on my To-Read-List.

Enclave (Razorland #1)
by Anne Aguirre
☆☆

Having enjoyed some of Anne Aguirre’s work, I was excited by the prospect of diving into her take-on of zombies, which lead to me being terribly disappointed at the ridonculoussness of it!
I forced my way through it and was left with the certainty that I would not read the rest of the series.

WhiteRabbitChronicles

The White Rabbit Chronicles
by Gena Showalter
☆☆☆☆

“You don’t think I’m crazy?” I asked hesitantly.
“Like I’m one to judge another persons sanity.”

I was expecting Alice meets Zombies in Wonderland – Tweedledee and Tweedledum or even Cheshire Cat zombies? soooo wicked! – and it would be a colossal lie to say that I wasn’t enormously disappointed by discovering that it was anything but.
Wasn’t bad, though. I acually enjoyed what was originally designed as a trilogy – even though the fact that it was described as “chronicles” should have tipped me off to Gena Showalter’s cunning – and I have A Mad Zombie Party on April’s TBR.

 

warm-bodies-quad-posterWarm Bodies (Warm Bodies #1)
by Isaac Marion

“In my mind I am eloquent; I can climb intricate scaffolds of words to reach the highest cathedral ceilings and paint my thoughts. But when I open my mouth, everything collapses.”

I’ve seen the movie, but I don’t know if I’ll ever read the book(s), since I did not like the fact that there were too much emotions and far too less flesh tearing and brains being eaten.

 

world-war-z-poster03World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
by Max Brooks

“Most people don’t believe something can happen until it already has. That’s not stupidity or weakness, that’s just human nature.”

The zombie in the movie were weird, fast, and scary f***ers! They piled on one another to jump the walls aroung Jerusalem… and that movi poster with them jumping on the heli? There’s no escaping them. I think only people in Iceland or Greenland would be save from those ones, and I am not 100% sure either.

newsflesh
The Newsflesh Trilogy
by Mira Grant

The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop.

This has been on my Binge-Read-Radar for quite a bit and I cannot come up with an appropriate excuse as to why I haven’t already dived into it head first. The fact that I’ve already a mega-pile on my bedside table doesn’t seem justifiable to me, because if that would’ve stopped me from getting new ones I now would be stuck exclusively with books from 2012 and backwards…

Cell by Stephen King

Witness Stephen King’s triumphant, blood-spattered return to the genre that made him famous. Cell, the king of horror’s homage to zombie films (the book is dedicated in part to George A. Romero) is his goriest, most horrific novel in years, not to mention the most intensely paced. Casting aside his love of elaborate character and town histories and penchant for delayed gratification, King yanks readers off their feet within the first few pages; dragging them into the fray and offering no chance catch their breath until the very last page. (Goodreads)

I really don’t know how much zombie there’s in this, but it’s a Stephen King novel and I couldn’t leave it out of this listing.
I may not have read that many books by him – only about a handful –  but I aspire to slowly go through all his work.

17455143Sawkill – A Zombie Novel
by Matthew L. Fitzgerald

Don’t judge a book by it’s cover. But in this case I really want to, because it’s the main reason why I put Sawkill on my list: it’s exactly how a zombie bookcover should look like. Gory and bloody and full of sharp teeth. Please, please, please, make this a good one!

16032526The Reanimation of Edward Schuett (Z7 #1)
by D.J. Goodman

The zombie is the hero of the story? And not in a mushy mushy Warm Bodies kinda way?
I’d like to say that it’s a new take on of a genre that, much like Vampire Literature, has escalated into the standard same old same old, but while reading through the blurb I was reminded of Murphy in Z-Nation.
Oh, well… Sign me up anyway!

