91bLXtMfY4L.jpg

add-to-goodreads-button3

★★★★

Author: Jim Butcher
Release Date: September, 1st 2001
Genres: Paranormal Mystery, Dark Fantasy,
Series: The Dresden Files, #3
Sequel to: Fool Moon
Followed by: Summer Knight

Harry Dresden’s faced some pretty terrifying foes during his career.
Giant scorpions. Oversexed vampires. Psychotic werewolves. All par for the course for Chicago’s only professional wizard.
But in all of Harry’s years of supernatural sleuthing, he’s never faced anything like this: the spirit world’s gone postal. All over Chicago, ghosts are causing trouble – and not just of the door-slamming, “boo”-shouting variety.
These ghosts are tormented, violent, and deadly.
Someone – or something – is stirring them up to wreak unearthly havoc. But why? And why do so many of the victims have ties to Harry?
If Harry doesn’t figure it out soon, he could wind up a ghost himself…

I’d really hate to find out that the universe really wasn’t conspiring against me.
It would jerk the rug out from under my persecution complex.

I am a sucker for Paranormal and all its sub-genres.
Does it have magic?
Does it have mythological/supernatural creatures, such as faeries (the deadly kind), vampires, were-animals, wizard, witches, and company?

GIVE.IT.TO.ME!
Even better when things go kaboom! every couple of pages.

As a general guide-line to this series, this is going to happen.
harry_dresden__x_all_the_y__by_xxtayce-d5mpdig
Always.

But that’s just the kinda guy Harry is! He apparently cannot keep his mouth shut in front of his opponents’ villany – takes courage, don’t you think? and, sometimes, a little bit of a death wish. Harry Dresden has both and that in unhealthy doses, I would say.

“We have now left Reason and Sanity Junction. Next stop Looneyville”

Harry is involved in a lot of nasty stuff: not only does he seek it out, it seems to be attached to his right hip. Of course he nurtures it tenderly, with the dedication of a loving parent.
He is, after all, a wizard “for hire”, a P.I. for the supernatural! But no way one guy can have
such bad mojo!
Then again, he’s such a good guy, nice, so noble-hearted, and chivalrous, always wanting to do the right thing, that you would be somewhat of a psycho – or a vampire, or a demon, or a malign ghost, or a non-believer who thinks him crazy – not to root for him.
Fortunately, you are no such thing (I hope – otherwise, be warned, I watch Supernatural and I know how to keep you at bay, monsters of the night…or the day – whatever!), so I think it will come easy to you loving this guy, because he is nothing like the other heroes you may have met so far.

He’s far from perfect, sometimes he’s kind of a wuss, other times (very often) he’s such a doofus.
You may not approve of his way of handling things, you may not like his softcore cursing (“Hell’s Bells”? – sounds a lot like AC/DC: yet another reason to love him, if you ask me), but he’s just the man you’d want at your back, coming at your rescue.

This third installment of The Dresden Files is the one that kicks off the whole series into a development of extraordinary masiveness, and lemme say it: it us a testimony to the awesomeness that is the Paranormal Genre.

Lable it Action Feast, because this book is packed and full of surprises.
A lot of laugh-a-loud moments, too.

Another word I’d use? Addictive.

Personally, I am hooked and I don’t wanna be ever unhooked again.

DID YOU KNOW…

… there’s a television series based on the series?
It first aired in 2007 and ran for a single season of twelve episodes.

I watched it, because when I stumble upon such things I can’t help myself. And I really had
high expectations since Jim Butcher’s are amazing novels with a high screen potential.
As it is, I only managed to get disappointed.
Nothing like the books.
I understand that books often have to undergo changes to be adapted to the big or little screen, but one too many changes lead to The Dresden Files not being The Dresden Files a fan knows and loves.

… the Hell’s Bells Count in Grave Peril is 26!

… The Dresden Files audiobooks are narrated (most of them anyway) by James Marsters aka “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”‘s Spike: make a note of listening to them;

… when I think of Harry Dresden all I see is this:
Dresden-Butcher-press-photoThis man is Jim Butcher himself, but in my head this is also Harry Dresden. They are one and the same, and nobody can convince me otherwise!

