Sometimes “I like” and “I don’t like” suffice.

Short and (relatively) concise reviews. I aim for under 100 words, but I tend to ramble.

15954791
The Death of Lila Jane
by Teresa Mummert

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Did I just read a book were nothing actually happens?
Yes, I did.

Underwhelming is the word! Along with anti-climatic and rushed.

The writing was great, though, as attested by this wonderful example:

“I wanted to rip her from her gilded cage and force the world onto her just to watch her crumble. Misery loves company, and I was nothing if not lonely.”

Thought it’d be more Mara-Dyer-like (probably because of the cover) but it couldn’t be more different.

Verdict: did not not like it.
★★

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00072]

The Baller by Vi Keeland

Genre: Contemporary Romance

This subtitles A Down and Dirty Novel – it’s pretty steamy and lotsa sexy, no denying it – yet it was more on the line of sweet and funny and even profound.

“When life knocks you down, stop and look around for one thing that’s good, because there is always something. Then cling to that good.”

I was hooked from the moment the towel dropped.

Big bonus?
That hotass cover.
Drool!
I’m officially a football fan, if only for those pants, but that’s probably just the model’s merit…

Verdict: liked it A LOT.
★★★

 

25817395
The Ex by Alafair Burke

Genre: Legal Thriller

The last chapter of a book either makes or breaks an entire plotline, especially in the Mystery/Thriller department.

The Ex has a pretty good final twist and an overall capturing plot that moved quickly, all of which made up for the total mess at the end.
Sometimes authors just have to forgo the “…years later” epilogue or at least give the facts that the stick in it a minimal sense or coherence and not just jump wtf-things on the reader.

Verdict: liked it so-so.
★★★

