*ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange of an honest review*
sticker20-20ng20member20-prof20reader
29156299add-to-goodreads-button3
★★+
Author: Efthalia
Release Date: March 22nd, 2016
Genres: Paranormal Romance

Carissa Alkippes is the daughter of a god but she doesn’t know it. As a cop she’s seen her fair share of bad but nothing prepared her for the horror of the world she has been plunged into.

Xen Lyson is the head of the Phi Athanatoi, a group of immortals who have been protecting man for over 2,000 years from the Kakodiamones–demons who want nothing more than to feast on humanity.

Thrown face to face with Xen during a skirmish with the demons, Carissa becomes a pawn in the deadly game of a demi-god who seeks godly powers.

FYI: I keep calling it Phantome, so know that if I slip up and you read a mix of Phantome and Phantasma I am talking about the same thing.

I am a tough cookie when it comes to Paranormal, especially the Romance section. I’ve read plenty and more, thus, whilst I can’t claim to have “seen it all”, I can state that I have had my share of “same old same old” reading experiences that have let me down quite a bit. E.g. – not to throw some shade – Lizzy Ford’s War of Gods oscillated between the 1 and 2 stars mark for me, because it was promising but, in my opinion, not well given. It was superficial and convenient. But there have been plenty of others that had my Paranormal-loving heart burst with excitement. To state some: the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, the Lords of the Underworld series.

So, where does Phantome stand?
For sure not on the same level as J.R. Ward or Gena Showalter. Yeah, those are definitely big shoes to fill and Phantasma has yet a long way of editing and rewriting to go to reach that goal.
Is it on a 1-2 star mark, though? I won’t stoop so low, but I can’t find it in my heart to find high praise for it either. Here “I love the concept, but the execution was not up to it” applies.
I had some issues with the convenience of the story and some loose ends, some stuff that was explained later on and other stuff the reader was almost supposed to take for given. It’s a story that, in my opinion as a reader, has to be fine-tuned in both writing style and dialogue to reach it’s full potential, because the plot I appreciated.
It might be the fact that I’ve read some Paranormal Romances, but while I was reading Phantome I more than once had the sense of déjà vu and was reminded of some other book. I’m starting to grow a bit bored with the whole “destined” routine. Nowadays that only works for Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark series.

READ MORE GREEK MYTHOLOGY INSPIRED PARANORMAL ROMANCES

Enraptured (Eternal Guardians #4) – Elisabeth Naughton
12534310.jpgOrpheus – To most he’s an enigma, a devil-may-care rogue who does whatever he pleases whenever he wants. Now this loose cannon is part of the Eternal Guardians, elite warriors assigned to protect the human realm–whether he likes it or not.

Orpheus has just one goal: to rescue his brother from the Underworld. He’s not expecting a woman to get in the way. Especially not a Siren as gorgeous as Skyla. He has no idea she’s an assassin sent by Zeus to seduce, entrap, and ultimately destroy him.

Yet Skyla herself might have the most to lose. There’s a reason Orpheus feels so familiar to her, a reason her body seems to crave him. Perhaps he’s not the man everyone thinks… The truth could reveal a deadly secret as old as the Eternal Guardians themselve.

