I say it cause I’m a fool, I say. I say it cause I’m jealous of you. I say it cause you do what I can’t.
What that? she say.
Fight. I say.
11486
add-to-goodreads-button3
Author: Alice Walker
Release Date: 1982
Genres: American Classics, Banned Books, Feminism

Taking place mostly in rural Georgia, the story focuses on the life of women of color in the southern United States in the 1930s, addressing numerous issues including their exceedingly low position in American social culture. The novel has been the frequent target of censors and appears on the American Library Association list of the 100 Most Frequently Challenged Books of 2000-2009 at number seventeen because of the sometimes explicit content, particularly in terms of violence.

“You black, you pore, you ugly, you a woman. Goddam, he say, you nothing at all.”

The Color Purple is a 1982 epistolary novel by American author Alice Walker which won the 1983 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the National Book Award for Fiction.
It was later adapted into a film and musical of the same name.

The Color Purple is a story of women who, thanks to one another, learn to respect themselves.

The Color Purple is a story about the meaning of life.

I think us here to wonder, myself. To wonder. To ask. And that in wondering bout the big things and asking bout the big things, you learn about the little ones, almost by accident. But you never know nothing more about the big things than you start out with. The more I wonder, the more I love.

A thought provoking reading experience that touches difficult and uncomfortable topics such as abuse, rape, homosexuality, gender inequality, and race issues.

It certainly takes some time to get used to the writing style, since it is written in a southern American dialect which, however, is very important to the presentation of the story.
Read this engaging and eye-opening epistolary novel by Alice Walker: it will be worth your while.

“She say, Celie, tell the truth, have you ever found God in church? I never did. I just found a bunch of folks hoping for him to show. Any God I ever felt in church I brought in with me. And I think all the other folks did too. They come to church to share God, not find God.”

