“What do I want?” His fingers brushed over loose strands of hair near my temple. “I want to call you every five minutes. I want to text you good night every night. I want to make you laugh. And I want you to look at me like you did that first night on the bus.”

add-to-goodreads-button3
★★★★★
Author: Jenn Bennett
Release Date: August 13th, 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance

Feeling alive is always worth the risk.

Beatrix Adams knows exactly how she’s spending the summer before her senior year. Determined to follow in Da Vinci’s footsteps, she’s ready to tackle the one thing that will give her an advantage in a museum-sponsored scholarship contest: drawing actual cadavers. But when she tries to sneak her way into the hospital’s Willed Body program and misses the last metro train home, she meets a boy who turns her summer plans upside down.

Jack is charming, wildly attractive, and possibly one of San Francisco’s most notorious graffiti artists. On midnight buses and city rooftops, Beatrix begins to see who Jack really is—and tries to uncover what he’s hiding that leaves him so wounded. But will these secrets come back to haunt him? Or will the skeletons in her family’s closet tear them apart?

His gaze lifted and met mine. We stared at each other.
And stared.
And stared…
A strange heat sparked inside my chest and spread over my skin.—I didn’t know what was happening between us, but I honestly wouldn’t have been surprised if the Owl had burst into flames, veered off the road, and exploded in a fiery inferno.

“Dear Diary,
I have fallen in love!”

If I had a diary, that’s what I would write: I have fallen in love with The Night Owl or The Anatomical Shape Of A Heart, whichever way you’d like to call it.
What a lovely lovely lovely story!
And what depth!
It was beyond amazing: it was unputdownable! it was perfection!

Yes, I am shamelessly fangirling, but that’s just because The Anatomical Shape Of A Heart deserves it!

Whatever my words (I usually have a lot, but in this case I seem to have lost my verve and seem to be utterly speechless), they could never do this book justice, because not only does it pack one of the most well-assorted, swoon-worthy couples of Romance, it also tackles very important issues like homosexuality, sex, and mental illness.

It was possibly one of the most charming and original, yet realistic books I’ve had the pleasure to read in a long long while.

You know what you are, Night Owl/The Anatomical Shape Of A Heart?

“You’re like ten prismacolors all at once.”

