“Scared is what you’re feeling. Brave is what you’re doing.”

add-to-goodreads-button3
★★★★
Author: Emma Donoghue
Release Date: September 13th, 2010
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

To five-year-old Jack, Room is the entire world. It is where he was born and grew up; it’s where he lives with his Ma as they learn and read and eat and sleep and play. At night, his Ma shuts him safely in the wardrobe, where he is meant to be asleep when Old Nick visits.
Room is home to Jack, but to Ma, it is the prison where Old Nick has held her captive for seven years. Through determination, ingenuity, and fierce motherly love, Ma has created a life for Jack. But she knows it’s not enough…not for her or for him. She devises a bold escape plan, one that relies on her young son’s bravery and a lot of luck. What she does not realize is just how unprepared she is for the plan to actually work.
Told entirely in the language of the energetic, pragmatic five-year-old Jack, Room is a celebration of resilience and the limitless bond between parent and child, a brilliantly executed novel about what it means to journey from one world to another.

“Before I didn’t even know to be mad that we can’t open Door, my head was too small to have Outside in it. When I was a little kid I thought like a little kid, but now I’m five I know everything.”

I am offering you advise here, and you better take it: if you didn’t already read Room put it on your TBR NOW!

Gripping and emotional, haunting and disturbing, Room is loosely based on the Fritzel case and told by the certainly uncommon perspective of a 5-year-old who was born into a room and has never left it, a boy who knows nothing but what he sees, and believes that the Outside is not real. Only Room is real.

Room is about Jack and Ma, their life in their 11×11 prison, their mother-son bond, the Great Escape, and the Outside.

It goes without saying that, being told in Jack’s PoV, most of the sentences in the book are not grammatically correct, which didn’t bother me at all since the book is still readable and it’s only realistic for a 5-year-old. It is also a very interesting way to narrate a book that takles such a heavy and “adult” subject such as this, although it takes some time to get used to the train of thought.

Room (banner poster)

Yes, I admit it I chocked up quite a bit during both book and movie. Fine, I was like a leaking fountain, but this story is just so emotionally taxing, I couldn’t help myself

To me, book and movie stand on the same ground, probably because the screenplay is written by Emma Donoghue herself.

“This is a bad story.”
“Sorry. I’m really sorry. I shouldn’t have told you.”
“No, you should,” I say.
“But—”
“I don’t want there to be bad stories and me not know them.”

FURTHER READING:


Living Dead Girl
 by Elizabeth Scott

Once upon a time, I was a little girl who disappeared.2954411
Once upon a time, my name was not Alice.
Once upon a time, I didn’t know how lucky I was.

When Alice was ten, Ray took her away from her family, her friends — her life. She learned to give up all power, to endure all pain. She waited for the nightmare to be over.
Now Alice is fifteen and Ray still has her, but he speaks more and more of her death. He does not know it is what she longs for. She does not know he has something more terrifying than death in mind for her.
This is Alice’s story. It is one you have never heard, and one you will never, ever forget.

